## ORIMS Presents... 2019

The 40th Donald M. Stuart Award



#### **Donald M. Stuart Award**

 Awarded for excellence and outstanding contribution to the field of Risk Management in Canada



## Donald M. Stuart Award History

 Don Stuart is considered the "father of Risk Management in Canada"

Colloquially known as the "Risk Manager"

of the Year"

Applies to all industry sectors in Canada that have Risk
 Managers



# Donald M. Stuart Award Don Stuart "Creeds"

Surround yourself with talent

Education is key

Stay on the cutting edge of new things

Always give back

### Nominating a Candidate



### Donald M. Stuart Award 2019 Award Committee

#### **ORIMS Board Representatives:**

Tanya Diedrick (Chair) Valerie Fox

Cindy Chan Alanna Butler

Eastern Risk Manager Rep: Elizabeth Clark, City of St. John's, NL

Eastern Industry Rep: Ann Hildreth, BI&I

Western Risk Manager Rep: Jennifer Clarke, City of Delta, BC

Western Industry Rep: Michael Baddeley, Hub International

#### Thank you all!

### Donald M. Stuart Award Award Criterion

- Active participation in RIMS, RCC & Chapters
- Implementation of RM program
- Lecturer/author of RM education
- Promotion of RM publications, speaking engagements
- Enhance status of RM profession
- Other significant contributions

### **Donald M. Stuart Award Past Award Recipients**

1979	Douglas A. Barlow	2000	Robert Wheeler, B.C. Rail.
1980	Carol A. Caswell, Maple Leaf Mills Limited	2001	Susan Meltzer, Sun Life Assurance Company
1981	Benjamin M. Eisenstat, Dominion Textile Inc.	2002	Richard Whitehouse, Government of Alberta
1982	Harold Quinn, Emeritus Member	2003	John Rislahti, Province of Manitoba
1983	Ladis J. Vegh, Canadian Utilities Limited	2004	Joe Restoule, Nova Chemicals Corporation
1984	Reginald A. Pitchford, United Grains Growers	2005	Nancy Chambers, Waterloo Region
1985	Gord Hird, Emeritus Member		Municipalities Insurance Pool
1986	Dan Sullivan, Northern Telecom Ltd.	2006	Kim Hunton, City Of Ottawa
1987	George Wilkinson, Syncrude Canada Ltd.	2007	Nowell Seaman, University of Saskatchewan
1988	Lloyd Hackett, T. Eaton Co. Ltd	2008	George Simpson, EPCOR Utilities Inc.
1989	J. Allan Swift, Manitoba Hydro	2009	Janice McGraw, McGill University
1990	Tony Bridger, Canada Packers Inc. & Marc	2010	Tina Gardiner, Region of York
	Darby, Bombardier Inc.	2011	Glen Fredericks, Government of BC
1991	Gary Vamplew, Province of Ontario	2012	Michel Turcotte, Ivanhoe Cambridge
1992	William S. Tully, Fletcher Challenge Canada	2013	Janet Stein, University of Calgary
1993	J.A. Yvon Menard, Marathon Realty Company	2014	Anne Chalmers, Teck Resources
1994	John Harris, City of Nepean	2015	Tino Brambilla, Manitoba Hydro
1995	Keith Gibson, BC Municipal Insurance Assn.	2016	Mark Day, Government of Alberta
1996	Robert Patzelt, Scotia Investments Limited	2017	Tony Lackey, Carleton University
1997	Barry Shakespeare, Westcoast Energy Inc	2018	Michel Rodrigue, Cirque du Soleil
1998	William (Bill) H. McGannon, NOVA Corp.	2019	???????
1999	Wayne Hickey, The City of St. John's		

#### Donald M. Stuart Award 2019 Award Recipient - Corporate Leadership

- Vast experience commenced in underwriting, loss control and marketing with insurance companies.
- Became a Risk Manager in 1988 and continued in progressive roles until his retirement in 2018.
- Established insurance and risk management policy for the Government of Manitoba, its 12 Departments and 39 Agencies;
- Established and maintained the Business Continuity
   Plan and Fraud Reporting and Prevention Policy

#### Donald M. Stuart Award 2019 Award Recipient - Volunteerism

- Held multiple positions, including President of MARIMS Chapter, as well as 24 years as MARIMS Education Chair
- Program Chair for RIMS Canada Conference 1994, 2004 and 2014
- Held various roles on and for the RIMS Canada Council
- Served on RIMS Advisory Boards and Committees, including working with GRMI, RIMS and Insurance Institute of America on education initiatives

#### Donald M. Stuart Award 2019 Award Recipient – Inspiring Change

- Established an Agency Self-Insurance Program to provide risk financing to 39 agencies;
- Strong advocate for ERM and also for Owner Controlled Insurance Programs (OCIP) for construction projects
- Introduced a thermal scanning program for facilities

#### **Donald M. Stuart Award** 2019 Award Recipient – Education

- Instructor of CRM Program, including updating the program;
- Was a member of the National Education Committee, updating the Risk Financing textbook and introducing international content;
- Incorporated a Risk Management component into Red River College certificate program;

#### Donald M. Stuart Award 2019 Award Recipient - Cutting Edge

- Participated in GovRIMS, an organization of Provincial, Territorial and Federal Risk Managers
- Participated in STRIMA, to compare best practices with US State government counterparts
- Advocated alternative risk financing techniques, larger retentions with enhanced risk control;
- Focused on the merits and cost savings of the Market Allocation process

### CONGRATULATIONS TO 2019 Award Winner!

And the 2019 Donald M. Stuart Award goes to...

#### JIM SWANSON

Director, Insurance and Risk Management

Province of Manitoba (retired)

