

NASBP Presents the 2010 Bruce T. Wallace Award and the President's Award at the Annual Meeting



Matt Cashion, Todd Loehnert, and Curtis Roberts presented the 2010 Bruce T. Wallace Award to Joyce and Amy Tinch, who accepted the Award in honor of the late A.C. "Ace" Tinch.

This year, NASBP honored the late A.C. "Ace" Tinch by presenting Tinch's wife, Joyce, and his daughter, Amy, the esteemed Bruce T. Wallace Award, which the Association awards to individuals who have given years of service to NASBP and to the surety industry. Tinch, who passed away in 2009, was the former President of Harding-Conley-Drawert-Tinch Insurance Agency, Inc. in San Antonio, TX and served as a NASBP Director and a Regional Vice President. He received many awards for his professional achievements including the Credit Executive of the Year and the Ben R. Binford Lifetime Achievement Award from the Independent Agents of San Antonio in 1997.

Tinch's close friend, Curtis B. Roberts of Mills-Roberts & Associates, described how Tinch had a strong influence in NASBP selecting San Antonio as the meeting location for the 2010 NASBP Annual Meeting. "Ace loved San Antonio and the NASBP and tried for years to have our annual meeting in his chosen city," Roberts said. "Along the way, he did everything he could for us by serving as Committee Chairman, Regional Vice President, and Director. The only time the NASBP Annual Meeting was actually scheduled to be held in San Antonio, it was bumped by the National AGC Meeting! In his years of promoting his site, he continued to provide very meaningful work on our behalf. I am only sorry that my dear and long time friend could not have shared [the 2010 NASBP Annual Meeting held in] 'San Antonio, where the sun always shines!,'" said Roberts.

Roberts, J. Spencer Miller, and Todd Loehnert presented the award to Joyce and Amy Tinch at

the morning general session of the NASBP Annual Meeting.

History of The Bruce T. Wallace Award

The Bruce T. Wallace Award, established in 1990 in memory of the Association's first executive vice president, is awarded by the Executive Committee to an individual who has distinguished themselves through years of exceptional service to NASBP and to the surety industry. The recipient is an individual who has conducted themselves throughout their career in accordance with the highest ethical standards and demonstrated a service characterized by commitment, consistency, intensity, and impact. It is noteworthy that the Bruce T. Wallace Award is not necessarily presented every year, but rather, only when a candidate meeting these high standards is nominated. In fact, since its establishment, the Bruce T. Wallace Award has been presented fifteen times.



Koula Korson accepted the John 'Jack' J. Curtin, Jr. President's Award from President Todd Loehnert and First Vice President J. Spencer Miller

During the Annual Meeting in San Antonio, NASBP President Todd Loehnert presented Koula Korson, Director of Operations, Finance, and Membership Services for NASBP, with the prestigious John 'Jack' J. Curtin, Jr. President's Award.

Loehnert described how Korson, who has been a member of the NASBP staff for thirty-one years, has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to advancing the objectives of the Association. He said that recently, she worked diligently to assist and to furnish invaluable information and insight to the President and the Executive Committee to ensure a smooth and efficient transition of the chief staff executive.

"Being able to present Koula with the President's Award was one of the most memorable moments of my bonding career," Loehnert said. "It isn't often that you have someone who dedicates themselves so thoroughly for the benefit of the organization. Our membership has been blessed by the 30 plus years that Koula has served, and I look forward to working with her for many more," he added.

In response, Korson said she has enjoyed working with the NASBP members and affiliates and has appreciated all of their support throughout her 31 years at NASBP. "I'm proud and honored to receive such a prestigious award," she said. "This award is very special, because I knew Jack as a colleague and a friend. This is the highlight of my career!"

Korson received a framed certificate personally inscribed in two-toned color calligraphy highlighted in gold and signed by Loehnert, as well as, a specifically minted NASBP President's

Pipeline - May / June 2010 - NASBP Presents the 2010 Bruce T. Wallace Award and the President's Award at the Annual Meeting

medallion customized with the NASBP logo and made of 2-troy oz. .999 fine silver.

History of the John 'Jack' J. Curtin, Jr. President's Award

The award, named the "John 'Jack' J. Curtin, Jr. President's Award," honors an individual, who is chosen by the NASBP President for their outstanding service contributions during the President's term to the Association and to the surety industry. The award was first presented in 2007 to John 'Jack' J. Curtin, Jr., for whom the award is named.

Curtin, a past NASBP President, passed away in 2008, and had been a faculty member of NASBP's acclaimed William J. Angell Surety School for 30 years. Curtin had served as a member volunteer in NASBP at all levels, including Director, Regional Vice President, as well as, Chair of several NASBP committees.

