# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE HEALTH CARE LAW SECTION OF THE STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN

# September 30, 2004

The Annual meeting of the Health Care Law Section of the State Bar of Michigan was held at the Radisson Hotel in Lansing, Michigan on September 30, 2004. A list of those who attended the Annual Meeting is attached to these Minutes.

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u>. The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Kathrin Kudner, at approximately 1:45 p.m.
- 2. Highlights of 2003-2004. Kathrin Kudner presented the highlights of the Section's activities throughout 2003-2004. She described the Substantive Law Committee and Subcommittees as the heart of the Section and gave an overview of the programs they held. The Chair, David Rogers, and the Vice-Chair, Marge Marchak, were thanked for their work. Ms. Kudner also reported that the HIPAA Task Force, chaired by Andrea Hool and Liz Callahan, continues to be active. They prepared a supplement to the preemption matrix addressing the Michigan Medical Records Access Act, Public Act 47 of 2004, which will be posted on the State Bar website. Ms. Kudner mentioned that the Specialty Task Force, chaired by Phil Stoffan, is exploring ways, other than specialty certification, to recognize health care attorneys. Gerald Griffith and Maria Abrahamsen co-chaired the Stark Phase II Task Force, whose members prepared and submitted comments to the Phase II regulations. Ms. Kudner acknowledged Robert Iwrey for creating the Section logo. She also reported that the new Corporate Practice of Medicine Task Force plans to pursue working with the State Corporations Bureau to make its policy regarding the filing of Articles of Incorporation more practical. Ms. Kudner noted that the Section held its first roundtable luncheon, organized by Ann Hollenbeck, which was well-attended. The Section also held its first law student reception at Michigan State University, organized by Jennifer Kildea Dewane. In addition, the Section co-sponsored the Health Law Institute with ICLE, which had a record high number of attendees.
- 3. <u>Minutes</u>. The Minutes of the September 11, 2004 Annual Meeting of the Health Care Law Section of the State Bar of Michigan were approved upon a motion made and seconded.
- 4. <u>Election of Council Members</u>. Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Section elected the following Council members:

Joy Berent Donna J. Craig Phillip M. Stoffan Janice A. Anderson  Recognition of Outgoing Council Member. Kathrin Kudner recognized the following outgoing Council member:

Gerald M. Griffith 1998-2004

6. <u>Announcement of Officers for 2004-2005</u>. The following officers were announced with the understanding that they, with the exception of the Chair, would be proposed for election by the Council at the first meeting of the Council following the Annual Meeting pursuant to Article V, Section 2 and Article VI, Section of the Restated Bylaws of the Section:

Cynthia Wisner - Chair Jennifer Kildea Dewane - Chair-Elect Donna Craig - Treasurer Lisa Panah - Secretary

7. <u>Announcement of New Leadership of Substantive Law Committee and Subcommittees</u>. Kathrin Kudner announced the following new positions:

## 2004-2005 Chairs:

Margaret Marchak - Chair \*Monica B. Wilkinson - Vice-Chair

### Consumers Subcommittee:

Leslie M. Wizner - Chair David J. Haron

#### Payors Subcommittee:

Joan L. Lowes - Chair \*Jeanne M. Dunk \*Kathy Kelley

## Providers Subcommittee:

\*Joanne R. Lax - Chair \*Paul Shirilla

Carol A. Tarnowsky

#### Technology Subcommittee:

Robert Iwrey - Chair \*Deborah Biggs \*Monica Navarro

#### Medical Legal Subcommittee:

Thomas J. Trenta - Chair Marta J. Hoffman Marcia Malouin

(\* denotes new Co-chair for 2004-2005)

- 8. <u>Announcement of Cynthia Wisner as the New Chair</u>. Kathrin Kudner announced that Cindy Wisner will serve as the new Chair for the year 2004-2005.
- 9. <u>Upcoming Year</u>. Cindy Wisner acknowledged Kathrin Kudner's leadership and recognized past chairs for their contributions to the Section. She solicited ideas and topics from the Section and discussed possible activities of the Section for the year 2004-2005. Ms. Wisner introduced the Program Chairperson, Phil Stoffan. In addition to introducing the speakers, Mr. Stoffan mentioned that the Specialty Task Force plans to send the Section a Zoomerang survey on the membership's interest in certification or the like.
- 10. <u>Program</u>. Janet Olszewski, Director of the Michigan Department of Community Health, and Michelle Best, Manager of the Medicaid Policy Unit of the Family Independence Agency, presented on the Michigan healthcare system and the impact of the Medicaid funding situation on the Family Independence Agency. Lively discussion followed.
- 11. Adjournment. The Annual Meeting adjourned at approximately 4:25 p.m.

# LIST OF ATTENDEES ANNUAL MEETING - HEALTH CARE LAW SECTION

# September 30, 2004

Berner, Laurie

Best, Michelle (speaker)

Blanco, Orlando L.

Chrysler, Denise

Cilla, Dana

Craig, Donna

Della Pia, Cheryl

DeVaux, Art

Drapalski, Nancy

Drutchas, Gregory

Finan, Walter (Bud)

Griffith, Gerald

Guindi, Sally

Hollenbeck, Ann

Houin, Connie

Huerta, Michelle

Iwrey, Robert S.

Kildea Dewane, Jennifer

Kocab, David C.

Lowes, Joan

Lukig, Nancy

Malouin, Marcia

Marchak, Margaret

Novak, Johanna

Olszewski, Janet (speaker)

Panah, Lisa

Patton, Susan

Rickard, Lori-Ann

Rii, Ethan E.

Rogers, David

Shellenberger, Lauren

Shpiece, Michael R.

Sralla. Kevin E.

Stoffan, Phil

Swan, Dennis

Weihl, Elizabeth

Wilkinson, Monica

Wisner, Cindy

Wizner, Leslie