MINUTES

State Bar of Michigan – Health Care Law Section Council September 3, 2020 Meeting:

Date: **Mercedes Dordeski** Chair:

Members Present:

nembers Present:			
Reesa Benkoff	Р	Christian Schafer	A
Aaron Beresh	Р	Jeff Schroder	Р
Martha Boonstra	Р	Sheerin Siddique	Р
Mercedes Dordeski	Р	Colleen Simek	Р
Becky Glitman	Р	Patricia Stamler	Р
Eric Klein	Р	Nicole Stratton	A
Andrea Lee	Р	Louis Szura	Р
Kevin Miserez	Р	Deborah Williamson	Р
Laura Napiewocki	Р	Rose Willis	Р
Leslie Rojas	Р		
Agenda Item	Discussion		·
Call to Order (Mercedes Dordeski) Roll Call (Susan Stokes) Conflict of Interest Disclosures (Mercedes Dordeski) Review and Approval of Minutes from August 6, 2020 (Rose Willis) Treasurer's Report (Nicole Stratton) New Business Confirm Council & Committee Positions for 2020-2021 Annual Meeting Vote (Mercedes Dordeski)	Mercedes called the meeting to order at 4:32 p.m. See above. None. The August 6, 2020 Minutes were approved as submitted. No report. Mercedes appointed a nominating committee of Sheerin Siddique, Louis Szura, Laura Napiewocki, Timothy Gutwald, and Jennifer Benedict. The committee came up with the following nominations. Chair – Sheerin Siddique Chair – Elect – Nicole Stratton Secretary – open position Treasurer – open position Fellows Chair – Timothy Gutwald		
Committee Reports			
Legislative Committee Report (Jeff Schroder)	No report. Jeff is completing his 3 rd year on the Council and will be stepping off the Council. A Legislative Day was not held this year because of COVID, but he will help the next chair with organizing the Legislative Day for 2021. Mercedes suggested that the Legislative Day could possibly be done virtually later in the year.		
Substantive Law Committee Report (Reesa Benkoff)	No report. The Chairs for the 2020-21 year have been decided as follows: Substantive Law Committee Chair: Leslie Rojas Substantive Law Committee Vice Chair: Reesa Benkoff Medical Legal Subcommittee Chair: Lisa Lucido Payors Subcommittee Chair: Deanna Cook Providers Subcommittee Chair: Gerald Aben Technology Subcommittee Chair: Jessica Busch		

Publications Committee Report (Becky Glitman)	An Informed Consent and the COVID-19 Pandemic paper was published in August by Julie Janeway, a law professor at Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law		
(Booky Gillington)	School School		
	The committee is working on new ideas for next year and they should be off to a good start in the fall.		
Pro Bono Committee Report	The committee sent out a "call for speakers" and received responses from 4 speakers.		
(Aaron Beresh)	The committee will work to form a panel from the submissions. The workshop will be		
	virtual this year. The virtual webinar will be on October 27, 2020. Susan suggested to		
Fellow Committee Report	Aaron that they could use the HCLS GoToWebinar platform for the virtual meeting. The awards were mailed to 2020 award winners:		
(Martha Boonstra)	1. Arthur deVaux		
(Martia Dooristra)	2. Donna Craig		
	3. Jennifer Benedict		
	Raymond E. Beckering III (Susan has Ray's award.)		
	Everyone accepted the awards except for Raymond Beckering III. Martha will have		
	Timothy Gutwald reach out to Ray Beckering III to see why he has not responded.		
New Lawyers and Law Student	The law school student award winners for 2020-21 are as follows:		
Committee Report (Kevin Miserez)	University of Detroit Mercy – Michael Shannon		
	University of Michigan Law School – Abigail Lynch		
	Wayne State University Law School – Jessica Biondo		
	Western Michigan University Cooley Law School – Katie Knott		
	Michigan State University School of Law – no response, at this time.		
	All the checks for the winners have been ordered and are on the way to the student or the school.		
Membership Committee Report (Andrea Lee)	The committee is working on planning a virtual networking event with Zoom for mid- October.		
New Business – No new business			
Adjournment/Next Meeting	The meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m. The next Council meeting will be on September 17,		
(Mercedes Dordeski)	2020 @ 2:15 p.m.		