MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE HEALTH CARE LAW SECTION OF THE STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN

September 11, 2003

The Annual Meeting of the Health Care Law Section of the State Bar of Michigan was held at the Lansing Center in Lansing, Michigan on September 11, 2003. A list of those who attended the Annual Meeting is attached hereto.

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u>. The meeting was called to order by Gerry Griffith at approximately 1:15 p.m.
- 2. <u>Observance of September 11</u>. A moment of silence was held in observance of September 11.
- 3. <u>Highlights of 2002 2003</u>. Gerry Griffith presented the highlights of the Section's activities throughout 2002 2003. He described the HIPAA Work Group as the most active group which is chaired by Cindy Wisner and Joy Berent. The HIPAA Work Group has updated forms, updated the pre-emption matrix and held regular meetings. Gerry Griffith mentioned that the Section is cautiously and deliberately exploring specialty certification. Gerry Griffith announced that the Substantive Law Committee had six programs and telephone conferences throughout the year. He revealed that the ICLE March meeting was well attended, having 170 participants. The Michigan Health Law Report has been published. The Michigan Health Law Index is being worked on and discussion continues on the List Serve.
- 4. <u>Election of Council Members</u>. Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Section elected the following Council Members:

Arthur F. deVaux Jennifer Kildea Dewane Ann Hollenbeck Margaret Marchak Michael J. Fraleigh Eric Wexler

5. <u>Recognition of outgoing Council Members</u>. Gerry Griffith recognized the following outgoing Council Members:

Greg Drutchas 1996 – 2003 Nancy Lukey 1997 – 2003 Colleen McClorey 1998 – 2003 Maurice Mc Murray 1997 – 2003 6. <u>Recognized outgoing Subcommittee – Chairs:</u>

Amy Broman - Payors

Elizabeth Derwin – Providers

Michael Fraleigh – Consumers

Ann Hollenbeck – Providers

Lynn Kriser – Medical Legal

Robert Schwartz – Technology

Eric Wexler – Technology

Deborah Withrow – Substantive Law Committee Vice-Chair – Payors

7. <u>Announcement of Officers for 2003 – 2004</u>. The following officers were announced with the understanding that they, with the exception of the Chair, would be proposed for election by the Council immediately following the Annual Meeting pursuant to Article V Section 2 and Article VI Section 2 of the Restated Bylaws of the Section:

Kathrin Kudner – Chair Cynthia Wisner – Chair-Elect Donna Craig – Treasurer Jennifer Kildea Dewane – Secretary

8. <u>Announcement of new leadership of Substantive Law Committee and Subcommittees.</u> Gerry Griffith also announced the following new positions:

2003-2004 Chairs:

David L. Rogers (Chair)
Margaret Marchak (Vice-Chair)

Consumers Subcommittee:

David J. Haron Monica B. Wilkinson **Leslie M. Wizner

Medical Legal Subcommittee:

** Marta J. Hoffman James H. Hughesian Thomas J. Trenta

Payors Subcommittee:

Joseph T. Aoun Joan L. Lowes **Samuel E. McCargo

Providers Subcommittee:

Janice A. Anderson

**Marcia Malouin

**Carol A. Tarnowsky

<u>Technology Subcommittee</u>:

Jeanne M. Dunk

**Joanne R. Lax

**Robert Iwrey

(** new Co-chair for 2003-2004)

- 9. <u>Announcement of Katherine Kudner as the new Chair</u>. Gerry Griffith announced that Katherine Kudner will serve as the new Chair for the year 2003-2004.
- 10. <u>Upcoming Year</u>. Kathrin Kudner reviewed the proposed activities of the Health Care Law Section for the year 2003-2004.
- 11. <u>Program</u>. The Annual Meeting then turned to the educational component on anti-trust issues and in-house counsel versus outside counsel issues.
- 12. <u>Adjournment</u>. The meeting adjourned at approximately 4:15 p.m.

LIST OF ATTENDEES ANNUAL MEETING - HEALTH LAW SECTION

September 11, 2003

Gerry Griffith Kathrin Kudner Jennifer Kildea Dewane Beth Derwin Colleen McClorey Leslie Wizner Joy Berent Ann Hollenbeck Zack Fryer Sam McCargo Monica Wilkinson Donna Craig Marta Hoffman Gary McRay Mike Shpiece Ethan Rii Marcia Malouin Dennis Swan Lisa Panah Amy Barkholz Jackie Scott Patrick Haddad Theresa Schuman Eric Wexler Margaret Marchak Robert Iwrey

Phil Stoffan Joe Kozely
Keith Soltis Joe Inwald
Susan Patton Alan Rogalski
Tom Trenta David Rogers
Art Lerner' Cindy Wisner
Steve French Judy Hooyenga
Neal Fortin Robert H. Schwartz

Harley Manfela Linda Fausey Jee' Brown Art DeVaux

S:\211\HEALTH\COUNCIL\MINUTES\AN-MTG03.doc