MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF THE REAL PROPERTY LAW SECTION OF THE STATE BAR OF MICHIGAN

JULY 12, 2019

BOYNE MOUNTAIN RESORT BOYNE FALLS, MI

The annual meeting of the members of the Council of the Real Property Law Section was called to order at approximately 9:45 A.M.. Chairperson Scavone confirmed that a quorum of voting members was present.

Present:

<u>Council Members</u>: Nicholas P. Scavone, Jr. (Chair), Catharine B. LaMont, Lorri King, Gregory J. Gamalski, Thomas A. Kabel, Dawn M. Patterson, John Gaber, Jason Long (CLE), Michael Luberto, Brandy Mathie, Scott Timmer, Roxana Zaha, Glen M. Zatz, and Melissa Collar (Immediate Past Chair).

<u>Ex Officio</u>: Larry Dudek, Brian Henry, Ronn Nadis, David E. Nykanen, Ron Reynolds, Larry Schoffner and Kim Shierk.

Section Administrator: Karen Schwartz.

ANNUAL SECTION MEETING

Approval of Minutes

Chairperson Scavone proposed approval of the minutes of the July 20, 2018 Annual Meeting by unanimous consent. No members raised objection so the Motion to approve the minutes passed unanimously.

Section Annual Report

Chairperson Scavone encouraged members to review the Annual Report, a copy of which was contained in the conference materials.

Nominating Committee Report – Election of Members and Officers

Ronald Reynolds and Scott Lesser presented the Nominating Committee Report for the Committee

The following Section members were nominated for Council terms expiring in 2022:

- Brian Foley
- Jessica Hallmark
- Jason Long (2nd term)

No further nominations were made from the floor.

Motion to Approve the Election of Council Members

Chairperson Scavone proposed a resolution for election of the Council Members nominated by the Nominating Committee by voice vote. No objections were raised and the approval and election as Council Members of the individuals nominated by the Nominating Committee thereafter carried unanimously by voice vote and not written ballots by the Section members present.

ANNUAL RPLS COUNCIL MEETING

Approval of Minutes

Chairperson Scavone proposed approval of the minutes of the July 20, 2018 Council Meeting by unanimous consent. No members raised objection so the Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Officers

On behalf of the Nominating Committee, Ron Reynolds noted that in accordance with Section Bylaws, Catharine LaMont will automatically ascend to the position of Chairperson, and Lorri King will automatically ascend to the position of Chairperson-Elect; and Scott Lesser noted that the following Council Members were nominated for the remaining offices:

- Gregory Gamalski, Vice-Chairperson
- Thomas A. Kabel, Treasurer
- Dawn Patterson, Secretary

Chairperson Scavone proposed a resolution for election as officers of the individuals nominated by the Nominating Committee by voice vote. No objections were raised and the approval and election as officers of the individuals nominated by the Nominating Committee thereafter carried unanimously by voice vote, and not written ballots, by Council Members only.

LAND TITLE STANDARDS COMMITTEE MEETING

The Land Title Committee held its annual meeting at this time, chaired by Lawrence Dudek. Chairperson Dudek proposed approval of the minutes of the July 20, 2018 meeting by unanimous consent. No members raised objection so the Motion to approve the minutes passed unanimously.

Chairperson Dudek proposed approval of the Land Title Standards Committee Membership by voice vote and not by written ballots by Council Members only. No members raised objection so the Motion to approve Committee Members passed unanimously. The following individuals were elected unanimously as Officers of the Land Title Standards Committee by those Land Title Standing Committee members present after a motion duly made and seconded: Kim Shierk as Chairperson, Jeffrey C. Hicks as Vice-Chairperson and Kelly A. Myers as Secretary.

As provided under Article 2, Section 5 of the Bylaws of the Real Property Law Section Brian Page was appointed to continue as the Land Title Standards Committee's liaison to the RPLS Council by Committee Chairman Dudek.

The Land Title Standards Committee meeting was then adjourned.

ACKNOWLEDGMENT AND AWARDS PRESENTATION

Chairperson Scavone extended special thanks to retiring Council member Glen Zatz and presented Mr. Zatz with a plaque to commemorate his long-standing record of service to the Section.

Chairperson Scavone then presented a gavel to Catharine LaMont recognizing her new position as Chairperson and the beginning of her term.

On behalf of the Section and Council, Mrs. LaMont thanked Mr. Scavone for his steady leadership and many years of service and dedication to the Section and to Council and presented him with a plaque, a special hat, a gift certificate and a gift of an hour glass to send him merrily on his way to his next adventure, while welcoming him back often to Section and Council activities as most recent Past Chairperson.

There being no further business, Chairperson LaMont proposed unanimous consent to close the Annual Section Meeting. No members raised objection so the Motion to close the Meeting passed unanimously. The Meeting was adjourned at 10:00 A.M., only slightly behind schedule.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas A. Kabel