

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

September 19, 2023 | 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm Hotel Grand Pacific

Attendance

In Attendance

- Meyer Aaron
- Asif Chinoy
- Sean Dixon
- Harlan Enns
- Adam Hetherington
- Travis Koivula
- Jennifer Scharien
- Luigi Simpatico
- Lindsay Wakelin
- Krystina Walton

Motion to open the meeting by Travis Koivula and seconded by Krystina Walton.

Approval of Minutes

Approval of Minutes

Motion to approve the minutes of the last board meeting, by Harlan Enns and seconded by Sean Dixon. Minutes of the 2022 AGM meeting held on October 13, 2022 were approved with no changes.

Introduction and Presentation to CFA Society Victoria

Asif Chinoy, President, introduced the meeting and welcomed the attendees to the AGM.

Asif thanked the current board and offered appreciation to outgoing board members, Asad Rawra and Jennifer Scharien, and presented certificates and gifts in acknowledgment of their contributions.

A presentation was displayed during the meeting, with highlights from the previous year that was walked through by various board members.

Mark Stephenson presented the Treasurer's report virtually, summarizing that the actual net expenditure was lower than budgeted and the society ended the year with cash at approximately CAD \$200k. The board responded to Q&As related to the financial statements.

Asif presented on the changes to the CFA Institute's Society Operating Model, and how those changes may affect CFS Society Victoria in the future.

Election of Officers and Directors

The following were put forward for election for the officers and directors for the year 2022-2023:

- Asif Chinoy as President
- Krystina Walton as Vice President
- Mark Stephenson as Treasurer
- Lindsay Wakelin as Secretary
- Christian Mattenley as Past President
- Brent Beagle Chair, Membership/Candidate Services
- Sanjeet Dhari, Chair, University Relations
- Sean Dixon, Chair, Programming
- Harlan Enns, Chair, Communications
- Meyer Aaron, Member at Large

Motion to approve the officers by Travis Koivula and seconded by Luigi Simpatico. The election of the officers was approved at the meeting with no changes.

Motion to close the meeting by Sean Dixon and seconded by Krystina Walton.