Division of High Polymer Physics

February 20, 1996 Newsletter

Executive Committee Election Results

In the recent executive committee elections Eric Amis, National Institute of Standards and Technology, was elected Vice-Chair of the division and David Hoagland, University of Massachusetts, was elected to the Executive Committee as a Member-at-Large. The Executive Committee extends its congratulations to those elected and its appreciation to all the candidates for their willingness to serve the Division.

1996 March Meeting

By now you should have received the DHPP program booklet for the 1996 March Meeting (St. Louis, MO, March 18-22, 1996). The program consists of about 430 papers. The Division is indebted to Joon Roe, this year's Program Chair, for the excellent job he has done in assembling the program. The program include a session on Tuesday morning in honor of Alan Gent (University of Akron), winner of the 1996 High Polymer Physics Prize, and a session Tuesday afternoon in honor of Julia Kornfield (California Institute of Technology), winner of the 1996 Dillon Medal. The session featuring graduate students nominated for the Padden Award is scheduled for Monday mid-day. In addition, there are joint sessions with the DCP and the DCMP, and a focused DHPP symposium on 40 Years of Entropy and the Glass Transition.

Membership

The yearend membership tally showed the DHPP with 1132 members representing 2.77% of the total APS membership of 40,857. Unfortunately, we have the distinction of being the only Division below the 3% criterion to maintain our Division status. If the DHPP is to remain a Division, we must achieve 3% by December 31, 1996. Please urge your colleagues to join - and be sure to renew your membership in DHPP!

Prize Nominations - EARLIER DEADLINE

At the request of the APS, the **deadlines for nominations** for the High Polymer Physics Prize and the Dillon Medal **have been moved forward to June 1**. This will allow more time for processing by the APS and for planning the symposia for the March Meeting.

Business Meeting

The annual business meeting of the Division of High Polymer Physics will be held on Tuesday, March 19, 1996 at 5:30 p.m. in Room 275 of the St. Louis Convention Center. All members of the DHPP are urged to attend. (Minutes of the last DHPP Business Meeting are included in this Newsletter.)

Reception

There will be a reception honoring Alan Gent, the 1996 High Polymer Physics Prize winner, and Julia Kornfield, the 1996 Dillon Medal winner. The reception will be Tuesday (following the Business Meeting) from 6:45 - 8:00 p.m. in Rooms 121-122 in the America's Center (St. Louis Convention Center). All members of the DHPP are invited.

DHPP Short Course

The DHPP Short Course is scheduled for March 16-17, 1996 in St. Louis, MO. The short course, organized by Jeff Koberstein and presented by faculty from the interdisciplinary Polymer Science Program at the University of Connecticut, is entitled "An Introduction to Polymeric Materials and Their Applications." Cost: \$125 for students; \$250 for others. Individuals planning to attend are urged to contact the coordinator for the latest information on the status of the short course.

```
Professor Jeffrey Koberstein Phone: (203) 486-4716Institute of Materials Science Fax: (203) 486-4745University of Connecticut Email: jeff@venus.ims.uconn.eduStorrs, CT 06269-3136
```

You are encouraged to suggest topics for future DHPP short courses. Suggestions can be submitted to any member of the Executive Committee or the Education Committee, currently chaired by Tim Lodge.

Special Issue, Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer Physics Edition

A special issue of Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer Physics Edition will publish papers presented at the March Meeting of the Division. There are no page charges for the journal, and authors receive a copy of the issue as well as 50 reprints free of charge. There is limited time after the March meeting to allow peer review before publication. Manuscripts submitted for the 1996 special issue are due by April 14, 1996 and should be sent to:

```
Professor Timothy P. Lodge Phone: (612) 625-
0877Department of Chemistry Fax: (612) 624-
1589University of Minnesota Email:

lodge@chemsun.chem.umn.edu</mark>207 Pleasant StreetMinneapolis, MN
55455-0431

March 21, 1995 Minutes
```

<u>DHPP APS Executive Committee 1996-1997</u> <u>DHPP home page</u>