

Prize winners



Balazs wins the 2016 Polymer Physics prize Anna Balazs (University of Pittsburgh) is cited "For theoretical insight into complex behavior of multi-component polymer systems."



Epps wins the 2016 Dillon Medal Thomas Epps (University of Delaware) is cited "For significant advancement in the control, characterization and understanding of polymer nanoscale structure and energetics."

Deadlines

Nov 6

March meeting abstracts. Your contributions will add to an exciting program for the **Baltimore March meeting**.

Nov 6

Nomination for Frank J. Padden Jr. award. Send nominations by email to Sanat Kumar (sk2794@columbia.edu) using the subject line "Padden_name of student".

Jan 8

March Meeting - early-bird registration deadline Friday, January 8. (late registration deadline Friday, February 12.)

Feb 13

Hotel reservation deadline Saturday, February 13.

The Polymer Physics Prize has been endowed by a generous matching grant from the Dow Chemical Company, and contributions from LG Chemical Company and former Polymer Physics Prize winners. The Dillon Medal is sponsored by Elsevier, publisher of Polymer.

Elections

Candidates for Vice-Chair are:

Al Crosby (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) <u>Darrin Pochan</u> (University of Delaware)

Candidates for **Member-at-Large** are:

Marina Guenza (University of Oregon) **Lynn Loo** (Princeton University)

Many thanks to the nominating committee (chaired by Ken Schweizer and comprising Timothy Lodge, Ali Dhionjwala, Shaw Ling Hsu and Mahesh Mahanthappa) for preparing this slate of candidates.

The election will begin shortly.

Abstract submission for the 2016 APS March Meeting is now open

The next APS March Meeting will be held March 14-18, 2016 at the Baltimore Convention Center in Baltimore, MD. Please *submit your abstracts* by Nov 6, 2015. Find sorting categories here.

From the Desk of the Program Chair, Dvora Perahia

Along with our traditional exciting DPOLY program, this year will feature several events. On Monday DPOLY and GSOFT will run two symposia, underscoring the impact of Sir Sam Edwards' work on polymer dynamics and on statistical physics of disordered systems. On Wednesday, in conjunction with FIAP's Industry Day and DCOMP, several invited sessions encompassing challenges in transitioning "From Nano to Meso" in polymers and composites, will be presented. Correlation of Polymer Topology and Performance Materials will be highlighted through invited symposia along the week together with some of the contributing sessions on co-polymers, and composites. To submit abstracts to one of these contributed sessions please chose the appropriate category and in the comment section writes "From Polymer Topology to Performance Materials".

Finally we are looking for volunteers to assist in sorting abstracts. The sorters meeting will take place on December 9 at the APS headquarters in College Park, MD. If you are interested, please email dpoly.p.chair@gmail.com. If you are interested in chairing a session at the March Meeting, please contact Dvora as well (dpoly.p.chair@gmail.com).

<u>Padden nominations</u> should be submitted by November 6 to Sanat Kumar (<u>sk2794@columbia.edu</u>) using the subject line "Padden_name of student". Candidates MUST submit their abstracts through the regular APS system, as well as sending it in with the application.

The **Short Course** this year is organized by Pinar Akcora on Polymer Nanocomposites.

Resources to help you attend the meetings.

Short course scholarships are available. Please contact Pinar Akcora (pakcora@stevens.edu). Need help getting a visa to the US or a letter of invitation? Need childcare?

Upcoming meeting of interest

<u>Colloidal, Macromolecular & Polyelectrolyte Solutions GRC February 7-12, 2016, Ventura, CA</u>; the registration deadline is January 10.

DPOLY membership benefits

Thank you for your participation in the division. As you refer others to our division, please let them know about the value of membership. Thank you.

This DPOLY newsletter was prepared by: Steve Hudson, Secretary-Treasurer; Chinedum Osuji, Publicity Committee Chair; Stephen Cheng, Executive Committee Chair; and other members of the DPOLY Executive Committee.

