Minutes of the Nonparametric Statistics Section Business Meeting at JSM (7:15 AM - 8:30 AM, August 7, 2023)

- 1. Introduction of the section officers
- 2. Election Results:

Chair-Elect 2024: Gerda Claeskens (KU Leuven in Belgium)
Program Chair-Elect 2024: Ana Maria Staicu (North Carolina State University)
Treasurer 2024 (Rotates to Secretary in 2025): Anru Zhang (Duke University)
Publications Officer 2024-2026: Hongyuan Cao (Florida State University)
Council of Sections Representative 2024-2026: Limin Peng (Emory University)

- 3. On behalf of the program chair, Long Nguyen, Chunming Zhang reported on the four invited, four topic-contributed, and six contributed sessions sponsored by our section at JSM 2023:
 - Invited paper sessions:
 - (1) Change-point modeling and analytics for complex data (organizer: Piotr Fryzlewicz)
 - (2) New advances of nonparametric statistics in the light of modern data (organizer: Chunming Zhang, discussant: Xuming He)
 - (3) Bridging deep learning and nonparametric statistics for complex data analysis (organizer: Guanqun Cao)
 - (4) Deep learning in semiparametric models (organizer: Jiwei Zhao)
 - Topic-contributed paper sessions:
 - (1) Innovations in high dimensional clustering, feature extraction and regression (organizer: Shuheng Zhou)
 - (2) Shape-constrained inference in data science (organizer: Theodore Westling)
 - (3) Recent advances in nonparametric modeling with applications (organizer: Hyebin Song)
 - (4) Nonparametric statistics section student paper award (organizer: Jiwei Cao and Long Nguyen)
 - Contributed paper sessions:
 - (1) Nonparametric testing and related techniques (chair: Scott Bruce)
 - (2) Nonparametric inference and decision making (chair: Jesse Frey)
 - (3) Time series data and temporal dynamics (chair: Xiaoyu Hu)
 - (4) Geometric methods to nonparametric inference (chair: Sunrit Chakraborty)
 - (5) Nonparametric estimation (chair: Haolei Weng)
 - (6) Methods for heterogeneous and complex data (chair: Kin Wai Chan)

4. Student Awards:

(1) Jiwei Zhao reported on the Best Student Paper Awards and Finalists of the Section. We received 47 submissions this year. The award committee used a double-blind review process, and each submission was reviewed by three committee members. The committee consists of Ingrid Van Keilegom, Ganggang Xu, Yang Ning, Lily Wang, Edward Kennedy, and Jiwei Zhao (Chair).

The 2023 Student Paper Award Winners (in alphabetical order) are:

- Manuel Muller, University of Cambridge
- Rong Tang, UIUC

• Qi Zhang, Penn State University

Each of the top student paper winners receives an award certificate, a \$500 prize, and a one-year membership in the ASA Nonparametric Statistics Section.

The additional finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

- Qi Xu, UC Irvine
- Yichi Zhang, NCSU
- Yidong Zhou, UC Davis

All six students presented their work in a topic-contributed session in the afternoon of August 6 at JSM 2023. A best-presentation award winner, Manuel Muller, was selected, who will receive a gift certificate. The selection committee consists of Lily Wang and Jiwei Zhao, all of the committee members who were present at this session.

- (2) Chunming Zhang reported on the best poster presentation sponsored by the ASA Nonparametric Statistics Section at the international conference on Statistical Foundations of Data Science and their Applications. The conference was held in celebration of Jianqing Fan's 60th Birthday in Princeton from May 8-10, 2023. We are delighted to announce that Yi Ding (at the University of Macau) has received the Best Poster Presentation award (\$500) and a certificate letter.
- 5. The Section Treasurer, Alexander Giessing, reported on the section's budget. The section's finances are in balance.
- 6. Lingzhou Xue reported updates to the Section website.