National Philanthropy Day Award Nominations Criteria

Presented by the Big Bend Chapter of AFP

Friday, November 6, 2020, 11:30am University Center Club

- Outstanding Fundraising Professional Must be an AFP Member in Good Standing
- Outstanding Media Outlet or Personality
- Outstanding Community Organization or Business
- Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy
- Philanthropist of the Year

DEADLINE: Nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m. Monday, August 3rd, 2020 A photo of the nominee is required with submission.

Outstanding Fundraising Professional – Must be an AFP Member in Good Standing

• **Before nominating individuals**, they must be contacted to make certain they will accept an award if chosen and attend the National Philanthropy Day event.

• **Criteria:** This award recognizes a fundraising professional in the Big Bend region who has demonstrated a high level of professionalism with a proven fundraising track record and is a member in good standing of the AFP with consideration to the following:

- o Extent of personal commitment in terms of time and effort
- o Financial results of his/her benefits
- o Success in leadership abilities in recruiting and motivating staff
- o Personal involvement as a volunteer with other nonprofits in the Big Bend region
- o Involvement in furthering the fundraising profession
- o Length of time commitment to the Big Bend Region

Outstanding Media Outlet or Personality

• **Before nominating individuals**, they must be contacted to make certain they will accept an award if chosen and attend the National Philanthropy Day event.

• **Criteria**: This award honors a media outlet (TV, radio, print, etc.) or individual who has demonstrated leadership and commitment to publicizing and promoting nonprofit services; has made a major impact through their exposure, effort and creativity in supporting the community, nonprofit organizations, and special events.

o Demonstrates strong financial and/or in-kind support

Outstanding Community Organization or Business

• **Before nominating individuals**, they must be contacted to make certain they will accept an award if chosen and attend the National Philanthropy Day event.

• **Criteria:** This award is presented to a non-profit organization, civic, business or professional association that has demonstrated outstanding commitment through their support.

o Demonstrates strong financial or in-kind support to philanthropy
o Provides exemplary encouragement in philanthropy
o Motivates others be actively involved in and to take leadership roles in philanthropic efforts
o Strong record in commitment to the Big Bend Region

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy

• **Before nominating individuals,** they must be contacted to make certain they will accept an award if chosen and attend the National Philanthropy Day event.

• **Criteria:** This award recognizes service by an individual or group of young people who have demonstrated outstanding commitment to the Big Bend community through direct financial or in-kind support and demonstrates ability to motivate others to give.

o Individual or group of young people in grades Kindergarten through 12th grade

Philanthropist of the Year

• **Before nominating individuals**, they must be contacted to make certain they will accept an award if chosen and attend the National Philanthropy Day event.

• **Criteria:** This award recognizes an individual, or family for exceptional generosity and civic responsibility demonstrated by significant financial contributions to charitable organizations in the community. The recipient's personal generosity and community leadership should motivate others to give and to become involved in philanthropy.

o Demonstration of outstanding commitment through financial or in-kind support o Provide exemplary encouragement and motivates others to take leadership roles towards philanthropy and promotes involvement o Displays integrity and responsibility while serving in the community

o Strong record of commitment to the Big Bend region

Past National Philanthropy Day Award Winners

Philanthropist of the Year

- 2019 Virginia Glass
- 2017 Alicia Crew
- 2016 Susie Busch-Transou and Family
- 2015 Melanie Lee
- 2014 Charlotte E. McGuire, M.D.
- 2013 Dr. Mary L. Pankowski
- 2012 Mrs. Tillie Allen
- 2011 Ron Sachs and Gay Webster-Sachs
- 2010 Chuck and Patty Mitchell
- 2009 Richard (Rick) Kearney
- 2008 Benjamin L. Crump and Daryl D. Parks
- 2007 Brooks and Almena Pettit
- 2006 The Ghazvini Family
- 2005 Elizabeth P. and Louis H. Bender
- 2004 Dr. & Mrs. T. K Wetherell
- 2003 Ray Solomon
- 2002 Kathy and Delbert Archibald
- 2001 Nelle Carter Bunn
- 2000 J. Orson and Eleanor Smith
- 1999 State Representative Marjorie Turnbull

Community Partner of the Year

- 2019 BowStren
- 2017 Holland & Knight
- 2016 Madison Social
- 2015 Pilot Club of Tallahassee
- 2014 Gulf Winds Track Club

Outstanding Fundraising Professional

- 2019 Colette Podgorski
- 2017 Grace Robinson
- 2016 Mickey Moore
- 2015 Nigel Allen
- 2014 Amber Tynan
- 2010 Julie Montanaro
- 2009 Mary B. Lazor
- 2008 Sally A. Weatherford
- 2007 Paula S. Fortunas
- 2006 Vann Middleton
- 2005 Mary L. Dekle
- 2004 Jane McNabb, CFRE
- 2003 Bonnie M. Flynn, CFRE
- 2002 Deborah Keller

- 2001 Thomas E. Norman, CFRE
- 2000 Alyce Lee Stansbury, CFRE

Outstanding Media Outlet / Personality

- 2017 WTXL ABC 27
- 2016 Karen Moore and Moore Communications
- 2011 Jeanie Booth, Tallahassee Democrat
- 2010 Julie Montanaro, WCTV
- 2009 Gary Yordon, The Usual Suspects
- 2008 Anna Johnson Riedel, Lifetime Achievement
- 2007 Deanna Lambert, WMBB, Panama City
- 2006 Charlie Belvin, Ron Sachs Communications
- 2005 Mike Vasilinda/MVP Productions
- 2004 Nick Waller/WCTV Channel 6
- 2003 Michael Pate/Tallahassee Democrat
- 2002 Sara Michaels/Clear Channel Radio

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy

- 2019 Margaret Fowler
- 2017 Ryan Rumana
- 2016 Paloma Rambana
- 2011 Celia Garthwait
- 2010 O Ambassadors of Oakridge Elementary
- 2009 Hannah Hill, Open Heart Ministry
- 2008 Leon High School Student Body

Outstanding Philanthropic Organization

- 2019 Dance Marathon of FSU
- 2011 Junior League of Tallahassee
- 2010 Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare Foundation
- 2010 Kiwanis of the Big Bend
- 2009 Zonta Club of Tallahassee
- 2007 Chrome Divas of Tallahassee

Lifetime Achievement Award of Excellence in Media

• 2007 – Anna Johnson Riedel

Lifetime Achievement in Philanthropy Award

- 2019 Grace Dansby
- 2017 Marjorie Turnbull
- 2011 Talbot "Sandy" D'Alemberte and Patsy Palmer
- 2008 Julia Munroe Woodward



National Philanthropy Day®

Call for Award Nominations

Presented by the Big Bend Chapter of AFP

Friday November 6, 2020

Please indicate the category for which the nomination is submitted. Nominations can be submitted electronically or in hard copy format.

- Outstanding Fundraising Professional Must be an AFP Member in Good Standing
- o Outstanding Media Outlet or Personality
- o Outstanding Community Organization or Business
- Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy
- Philanthropist of the Year

Please complete the information below and attach a one-page (or less), typed summary of achievement outlining the qualifications of the nominee. A **photo of the nominee is required** with submission.

Nominee's Name:		
Address:		
Felephone: E-I		E-Mail:
Nominated By:		
Organization:		
Address:		
	E-mail:	
DEA	DLINE: Nominations must be r	received by 5:00 p.m. Monday, August 3rd, 2020
Association of Fundraising Professionals Big Bend Chapter	MAIL APPLICATIONS TO:	2020 NPD Nominations Committee P.O. Box 4046 Tallahassee, Florida 32301
	OR Submit via E-MAIL TO:	cpodgorski@fsu.edu

For questions please contact Colette Podgorski at cpodgorski@fsu.edu or (850) 228-8536