

American Academy of Nursing Announces its 2020 Election Results

Newly Elected Secretary, Board of Directors, and Committee Members to Assume Leadership Positions

Washington, DC (October 26, 2020) – The American Academy of Nursing (Academy) is pleased to announce the election results for Secretary, Board of Directors, Ethics Committee, Fellow Selection Committee, and Nominating Committee.

"The Academy is thrilled to announce the individuals who will be assuming leadership positions within the organization following the conclusion of this year's virtual <u>Transforming Health, Driving Policy</u> <u>Conference</u>," said Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN. "I know each of these exceptional leaders will help further the organization's vision, mission, and strategy so that we can advance health equity and positively transform health policy."



Karen N. Drenkard, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN will assume the role of **Secretary**. Inducted into the Academy in 2008, Dr. Drenkard currently serves on the Academy's Board of Directors. As a Fellow, Dr. Drenkard has been critically involved in strengthening the Institute for Nursing Leadership (INL), which is a signature initiative of the Academy. Dr. Drenkard's engagement in the INL as both Co-Chair of the National Advisory Council and Chair of the Planning Committee, has contributed to preparing nurse leaders to advance their influence for greater impact. Dr. Drenkard currently serves as the Associate Dean for Clinical Practice and Community

Engagement and as an Associate Professor at the George Washington University (GWU) School of Nursing. She leads multiple centers, including Community Partnerships, the Center for Aging and Humanities, the Center for Health Policy and Media Engagement, and the Global Initiatives Network. Prior to her position at GWU, she was the Senior Vice President, Chief Nurse, and Chief Clinical Officer at GetWell Network, a healthcare technology company focused on addressing patient and family engagement strategies.

"I am honored to be elected to continue my work within the Academy as Secretary of the Board," said Dr. Drenkard. "At such a critical time, it is vital that we, as nursing leaders, leverage our positions to promote policies that advance health equity and reform systems that do not adequately serve our communities. I look forward to utilizing my experience on the Board to promote this vital work."



Angela F. Amar, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, has been elected to serve on the Board of Directors. Dr. Amar was inducted into the Academy in 2011 and has previously served as Co-Chair of the Violence Expert Panel from 2013-2016. As Co-Chair, she helped lead the planning of policy dialogues, including the "Positive Disruption of Policies Supporting Violence" dialogue and co-authored policy briefs for <u>Nursing Outlook</u>, such as "Reducing firearm violence," and "Screening and counseling for violence against women in primary care settings". Dr. Amar has held multiple leadership roles, including Program Director at Boston College, Associate Dean at Emory University,

and her current position as Dean and Professor at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Nursing. In addition, she was selected for both the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholar program and the American Association of Colleges of Nursing Wharton Executive Leadership program. Dr. Amar's leadership skills and training will be invaluable assets as she joins the Academy Board.

"As the dean of a school of nursing at one of the most diverse universities in the United States, I'm excited to carry the perspectives of these often unheard voices that represent the future of nursing and nursing leadership to the American Academy of Nursing," said Dr. Amar.

Mary Magee Gullatte, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, AOCN, FAAN, Corporate Director of Nursing Innovation and Research, Emory Healthcare Network and **Pamela R. Jeffries**, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, Dean and Professor of Nursing, The George Washington University School of Nursing, have been elected to serve second terms on the **Board of Directors**. Their support and dedication to the Academy is greatly appreciated as the organization ushers in a new strategic plan for which they were involved in its conception. Drs. Gullatte and Jeffries also served as the Chair and Co-Chair of the Policy Conference Planning Committee, respectively, leading to what will be a successful virtual 2020 *Transforming Health, Driving Policy* Conference.

Continuing Board Members Include:

- Jose Alejandro, PhD, RN-BC, MBA, CCM, FACHE, FAAN, Director of Care Management, University of California Irvine Health, Assistant Professor, Mount St. Mary's University at Los Angeles
- **Debra Barksdale**, PhD, FNPBC, ANP-BC, FAANP, FAAN, Professor and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Virginia Commonwealth University
- **Nelda Godfrey**, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN, Associate Dean for Innovation and Strategic Partnerships, University of Kansas

This year's election also included positions for the Ethics Committee, Fellow Selection Committee, and the Nominating Committee on the ballot. The following individuals will join these committees at the conclusion of the <u>policy conference</u>, taking place virtually this October 29-31, 2020.

Newly Elected Members of the Ethics Committee:

- Lauren Clark, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor, Shapiro Family Endowed Chair in Developmental and Disability Studies, UCLA
- **Reverend Rudy Valenzuela**, PhD, RN, FNP-C, FAANP, FAAN, President and CEO, FSP Health Ministries

Newly Elected Members of the Fellow Selection Committee:

- Sally Wai-Chi Chan, PhD, RN, FAAN, Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Newcastle, Singapore
- Sandra B. Dunbar, PhD, RN, FAHA, FPCNA, FAAN, Charles Howard Candler Professor, Associate Dean of Academy Advancement, Emory University
- Teri A. Murray, PhD, PHNA-BC, RN, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emerita, Saint Louis University
- Mario Ortiz, PhD, RN, PHCNS-BC, FNP-C, FNAP, FAAN, Dean and Professor, Binghamton University

Newly Elected Members of the Nominating Committee:

• **Rowena Elliott**, PhD, RN, CNN, AGNP-C, FAAN, Associate Professor of Nursing, Clinical Track, Emory University

- Marie Ann Marino, EdD, RN, FAAN, Dean and Professor, Thomas Jefferson University
- Luann Whittenburg, PhD, RN, FNP-BC, CPHIMS, FHIMSS, FAAN, Consultant, Health Informatics

Academy President Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN and President-Elect, Kenneth White, PhD, AGACNP-BC, FACHE, FAAN look forward to welcoming new and returning members of the <u>Board of</u> <u>Directors</u> and <u>Committees</u>.

###

About the American Academy of Nursing

<u>The American Academy of Nursing</u> serves the public by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. Academy Fellows are inducted into the organization for their extraordinary contributions to improve health locally and globally. With more than 2,700 Fellows, the Academy represents nursing's most accomplished leaders in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia.

Contact:

Caroline Kane | 202-777-1173 | ckane@AANnet.org